Announcing the 2023 Screenwriting Competition Semifinalists

Congratulations once again to all those who were selected as quarterfinalists. While it takes a great deal of creative force to make it to the rank of quarterfinalist, it takes even more to make it to the semifinalist round. Drawing from an amazing pool of talent, we have the pleasure of announcing which of the screenplays submitted to the 2023 Screenwriting Competition have moved forward to the status of semifinalist. These screenplays contain a truly unique sense of what film is and can be, evoking our emotions with the turn of every page. Truly, they were a pleasure to read.

Congratulations to our semifinalists! Stay tuned for later announcements regarding the finalists for the 2023 Nashville Film Festival Screenplay

30 Minute Pilot Semifinalists

Cashley by Christl Stringer
FiSHWoRLD by Natalie Stigwood
Guardians of Abel by Adam Sleper
I’m Dating the Devil’s Daughter by Morris Jackson
Negro-tism by Aadrise Johnson
Original Sinners by Martin Aguilera
So, We’re Heroes? by Victor Dean & Shannon McClain
Sunnyside by Michael Davison
SWOLE by David Koutsouridis
Tenured by Matt Everts
The Republic by Andrew M. Henderson & Andrew Wheaton

60 Minute Pilot Semifinalists

Ashes to Ashes by Rachel McClard
At Death’s Door by Matthew Catanzano
Big Booty Judy by Julia Tokarz
Bog Water by Jonathan Weisbrod
BUTCH by Rae Binstock
Cancelled? by Thomas L. Ferguson
Desire by Katherine Cronyn
Fashion Apocalypse by Susan Berman
Glass Ceiling by CJ Grooms
La Madrina Adam Santa Maria
Magical Negro by Sam Watson
New Cardiff by M. Rowan Meyer
Past Lives by John Cerrito
Public Displays of Affection by Samantha Jose
Sugar by Ima Djie
The Inspector Reboots by Mark Renshaw
The King of the Cannibals by Sam Watson
The Spirit of ’76 by Jerry Jerome

Short Script Semifinalists

A Wicked Game by Derrick Benton
A Woman’s Body by Tiffany Tenille
Are You Ready? by Jensen Mcrae
Cherry-Colored Funk by Chelsie Pennello & Corbett Blair
Compulsion by Mark Renshaw
Cotton’s Sack by Will Sims
Hard Lead by Patrick Gatov
Image by Priyanka Arya
Kill the Competition by Will Altemeier
Lasting Love Blasting Love by Lorraine Portman
Leo Lets It Rain by Jasmin Sinclair Prophete
Lizard by Andressa Da Silva
Noa’s Place by Maria Romanova-Hynes
r.e.g.g.i.N by A. D. Smith
Right Hook by Jaden Duenas
Superman Doesn’t Steal by Tamika Lamison
Teeth by Lyubo Yonchev
The Rusty Nail by John Acquaviva
When I Was Younger by Dylan Polniak

Drama Feature Semifinalists

A8450, M.D. by Shia Labeouf
Beauty for Ashes by Patrick Barry
Dauntless by Barry Leach
Huerfano by Colten Ashley
Just for a Day by Maryann Castronovo
Leila by Faryar Hosseini
Madame Butterfly’s Mad Jaunt by Barry Leach
My Idiot Sister by Michael Basha
Panorama Connection by Nicole Weaver
Road Closure by John Cerrito
Rooted by Brian Koukol
Salesman From Topeka by Adam Seidel
Saving Marcus by Clinton Green
Self Evident by Lawrence Kennon
She’s All Right by Shon Keane & Melaneie Williams Oran
Thaw by Alex Bush
The Basement by J.D. Elliby
The Cline by Heidi-Marie Ferren & Dana Joiner
The Fountain by Link York
The Many Deaths Of Wallace Badger by Nicky Calloway
The Rommel Gambit by John Doble
Three Kachinas by Casey Blackburn & Jef Connor
Watermelon, Watermelon, Watermelon by Calvin Claudio
Whyoming by Kelvin C. Bias
Ziggy and Rachel by Michael Rispoli & Gregg Greenberg

Genre Feature Semifinalists

Angels in Hip Hop Land by Gail E. Davis & Clyde Santana
City Boys by Justen Ramsey
Frank M by Benin Trotter
From Above by Ben Tedesco
If These Walls Could Shut Up by Gina DeAngelis
Iris by Shunori Ramanthan & Cidney Hue
Maddie and Frannie by Virginia Austin & Virginia
On A Field of Legends by Nicholas Julius
Parallel by Ryan Werner
Putting Love On The Menu by Lance Dumais & Andrew
The Cheater Eater by Erika Kathryn
The Rifle Brothers by Brett Prieto
Time, Space, & The Poet by John Turner
Yatra by David Barbeschi & Vee Kumar

Horror Feature Semifinalists

Best Served Cold by Bill Crossland
Chateau Sauvignon by David M. Night Maire & Adam T. Wolfe
Don’t Come Looking by Larkin Campbell & Shawn Driscoll
Effigy by Jason Kaleko
Holdout Darren by Arthur Howell
Indigent by Briana Cox
P.R.O.M. by Liz Maestri
Primordial by Andrew M. Henderson
Rough Cut by Mitchell V Slan
Screaming Now by Raffaele V Marchetta
She by Jonathan Klemke
The Empties by Anne K Hartner
The Horror Experience by Joseph C. Muscat
Trick Selfie by Chad Wellinger

Comedy Feature Semifinalists

Alien America by Gorby Mufan Shih
Blackout Wednesday by Teddy Gilmore & Mat Dann
Cary in Retrograde by Priya Jane Domfeh & Philipp Yaw
Helen of Troy by Mary Ann Rotondi
I Got You Babe by T. Camponeschi
I’ll Be Going by S.P Rae
K-Poparazzo by Max Werkmeister
Loves Company by Jason Laurits
Proud by Courtney Harrell
The Wedding Knight by Stephen Hoover
Toying With Reality by Miles Burris

Tennessee Writer Semifinalists

Beware The Jabberwock by Allison Page
901 by Phillip Charles
Boil by Scott McKinlay, Paul Travers & Jim Bartoo
Globeheads by Briana Cox
Green Heights by Kennard H Murray
Lawless State by Sandra Webb Smith
Let Her Go by Melissa Sheridan & Amy Traurig
r.e.g.g.i.N by A. D. Smith
Shades of Right by Paula Phelps-Weaver
Shady Acres by Jaimie Bouwkamp
The Pain Body by Adam Murphy