Winners – Screenwriting Competition 2018


May 21, 2018 (Nashville, TN) – The Nashville Film Festival announces the winners of their 5th annual Screenwriting Competition. The winners were selected from over 1,400 submissions from all over the world and include feature-length screenplays, short screenplays, and teleplays.

Below are the winners in each category:

Grand Jury Prizes:

Grand Jury Prize – Feature: Queens by Max Sokoloff
Grand Jury Prize – Short: True Blue by Phil Yuhas

Feature Screenplays

Action/Adventure Feature: Suckerfish City by William Rodemeyer
Comedy Feature: Queens by Max Sokoloff
Drama Feature: Blue on Blue by David Dasilma
Family/Animation Feature: Spirit Halloween by Billie Bates
Historical Feature: Southern Knights by Scott Bloom & Myra Turley
Inspirational Feature: Get a Life by Nicole Fairbrother
Music-Inspired Feature: Hard Candy Christmas by Nick Abdo
Science-Fiction Feature: Moon Rush by Matt O’Reilly
Tennessee Feature: Green Card Gay by KD Amond
Thriller/Horror Feature: Dream Screen by Steven Epp

Short Screenplays

Comedy Short: Mama of Dada by Anna Hopkins
Drama Short: True Blue by Phil Yuhas
Genre Short: Sergio: A Scorpion’s Tale by Shaun Radecki
Tennessee Short: Night of the Swingin’ Dead by Jason K Allen
Thriller/Horror Short: The Storyteller by Patrick Nash
Young Screenwriter Short:  Hiding Spot by Sam Wilson


30-Minute Teleplay:  OMG by Terry Milner
60-Minute Teleplay:  Radicalized by Bandar Albuliwi