Announcing Short Film Award Winners
Monday, April 20, 2015

The Nashville Film Festival (NaFF) is pleased to announce the short film awards winners for the 46th Annual Nashville Film Festival. Jurors chose the winners from more than 2,600 entries ranging from 3-39 minutes in length, and covering a variety of genres.

Winners in the animated, narrative and documentary shorts categories are automatically qualified for Academy Award® consideration, should they meet all other eligibility requirements. The Nashville Film Festival is one of only 17 festivals in the world that are automatic qualifiers in these three categories.

According to the jury, its palpable portrayal of a child torn between two worlds earned Daytimer the Live Action Short Grand Jury Prize. Bear Story set itself a very high bar both stylistically and narratively and delivered across the board, which garnered it the Grand Jury Prize for Animated Short. La Vie en rose comme dans les films provided a humble glimpse into the complicated world of memory; the short received the Grand Jury Prize for Documentary Short. Each of these three shorts will be automatically qualified for Academy Award® consideration.

Complete List of Short Film Award Winners
Live Action Short – Grand Jury Prize: Daytimer, directed by Riz Ahmed (United Kingdom)
Live Action Short – Honorable Mention: Tzniut, directed by David Formentin (USA)
Live Action Short – Honorable Mention: Saturday, directed by Mike Forshaw (United Kingdom)
Special Jury Prize for Visual Storytelling: The Aftermath of the Inauguration of the Public Toilet at Kilometer 375, directed by Omar El Zohairy (Egypt)

Animated Short – Grand Jury Prize: Bear Story, directed by Gabriel Osorio (Chile)
Animated Short – Honorable Mention: Man on the Chair, directed by Dahee Jeong (France)
Special Jury Prize for Achievement in Animation: Pineapple Calamari, directed by Kasia Nalewajka (United Kingdom)

Documentary Short – Grand Jury Prize: La Vie en rose comme dans les films, directed by Christophe M. Saber (Switzerland)
Documentary Short – Honorable Mention: Autofocus, directed by Boris Poljak (Croatia)

Special Jury Prize for Bridging the Gap Between Experimental and Documentary Filmmaking: Object, directed by Paulina Skibinska (Poland)
Experimental Short – Grand Jury Prize: (null), directed by Michael Lange, David Gesslbauer (Germany)
Experimental Short – Honorable Mention: Play Within a Play, directed by Yasmijn Karhof (Netherlands)

Student Short – Grand Jury Prize: Wire Cutters, directed by Jack Anderson (USA)
Student Short – Honorable Mention: The Aftermath of the Inauguration of the Public Toilet at Kilometer 375, directed by Omar El Zohairy (Egypt)

Watkins Young Filmmaker Award: Poet Against Prejudice, directed by Faiza Almontaser (USA)

Web Series Grand Jury Prize: 24 Hour Records, directed by Brad Cash (USA)
Web Series Honorable Mention: HelLA, directed by Rory Uphold (USA)

Graveyard Shift Grand Jury Prize for Short Film: Alone, directed by Didier Philippe (France)
Graveyard Shift Honorable Mention for Short Film: Primrose Lane, directed by Nick Phillips (USA)

Ground Zero Tennessee First Shorts Documentary Award: Muddy Pond, directed by Tyler Jones
Ground Zero Tennessee First Short Narrative Award: Trying Not to Explode, directed by Dave Dorsey

Tennessee Horizon Audience Award for Best Shorts presented by TN Film, Music & Entertainment Commission and Native Magazine (Nominees – winner announced Thursday, April 23)
Contrary to Likeness, directed by Motke Dapp
Daddy’s Little Girl, directed by Chad McClarnon
Futureman, directed by Patrick Sheehan
How I Got Made, directed by Tracy S. Facelli
Nashville in Harmony: Ten Years of Using Music to Build Community, directed by Steven C. Knapp
Usetocould, directed by Drew Maynard

Steven Goldmann Visionary Award: World of Tomorrow, directed by Don Hertzfeldt (USA)

Nashville Film Festival (NaFF), April 16 – 25, 2015, presented by Nissan North America, brings the world to Nashville in a 10-day celebration of film. NaFF honors the diversity of the human vision by curating varied program segments and partnering with nearly 100 community organizations. Founded in 1969 by Mary Jane Coleman, it is one of the oldest film festivals in the U.S.  Each year NaFF attracts hundreds of filmmakers, actors, screenwriters, musicians, industry insiders, world media and over 40,000 film fans to celebrate with over 250 films from over 50 countries. A team of 500 volunteers make NaFF happen. As an Academy Award Qualifying Event, NaFF garners notice from the Associated Press, The New York Times, The Wall Street JournalMovieMaker Magazine, IndieWire, Variety, Billboard, New York and Script Magazine.

About Nissan North America 
In North America, Nissan’s operations include automotive styling, engineering, consumer and corporate financing, sales and marketing, distribution and manufacturing. Nissan is dedicated to improving the environment under the Nissan Green Program and has been recognized as an ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 by the U.S Environmental Protection Agency. More information on Nissan in North America and the complete line of Nissan and Infiniti vehicles can be found online at and, or visit the Americas media sites and