Announcing Feature Film Awards
Friday, April 24, 2015

The Nashville Film Festival (NaFF) 2015 announced the 46th Annual Competition Award winners, including Grand Jury Prizes to Monument to Michael Jackson, Orion: The Man Who Would Be King and other notable films. Best Original Song went to Brian Wilson for “One Kind of Love” from Love & Mercy.


Bridgestone Narrative Competition

Grand Jury Prize – Monument to Michael Jackson, directed by Darko Lungolov
Honorable Mention – WildLike, directed by Frank Hall Green

The Bridgestone Narrative Competition Grand Jury Prize went to Monument to Michael Jackson. The film was, “at times a political farce, a relationship drama and an inspiring tale of tenacity in the face of adversity.”The jury also awarded Geraldine Chaplin from Sand Dollars the Best Actress award, while Boris Milivojevic from Monument to Michael Jackson received the Best Actor award. Best Screenplay went to Shonali Bose for Margarita, with a Straw, and the Film Musicians Secondary Market Fund Award for Best Music in a Feature Film went to Ramon Cordero, Benjamin De Menil and Edilio Paredes for Sand Dollars. The Special Jury Prize for Cinematography was awarded to Tony Mirza for Eadweard.


Gibson Music Films/Music City Competition

Grand Jury Prize – Orion: The Man Who Would Be King, directed by Jeanie Finlay
Honorable Mention – Sweet Micky for President, directed by Ben Patterson

The jury said Orion, “hits every note… and then some. It was a completely unpredictable yet always entertaining and moving documentary.”The jury awarded the Special Jury Prize for Best Import to Tomi Fujiyama in Made in Japan.

Documentary Competition

Grand Jury Prize – Frame by Frame, directed by Mo Scarpelli and Alexandra Bombach
Honorable Mention – Welcome to Leith, directed by Michael Beach and Christopher K. Walker

Frame by Frame is a fascinating look into life in Afghanistan that celebrates its growing photography culture, with unprecedented access and interviews,” the jury said. “The film is beautifully crafted and we’re so honored to present these first time filmmakers with the Documentary Grand Jury Prize, and hope that they will continue to make inspiring films.”The Special Jury Prize for Direction went to Jimmy Chin and E. Chai Vasahelyi forMeru.

New Directors Competition

Grand Jury Prize – Songs She Wrote About People She Knows, directed by Kris Elgstrand
Honorable Mention – Naz & Maalik, directed by Jay Dockendorf

Songs She Wrote About People She Knows received the Grand Jury Prize, “for its quirky plot, high production values, and unique yet relatable characters, the New Directors Jury awarded its Grand Jury Prize to Songs She Wrote About People She Knows. Lead actress Arabella Bushnell delivers a particularly strong performance as an aspiring pop singer, complete with highly original and hilarious songs. Writer/director Kris Elgstrand is a strong new voice in independent cinema and we are excited to see what he comes up with next. “

The jury awarded Krisha Fairchild with Best Actress for Krisha and Daniel Cerqueira with Best Actor for Radiator. The Special Jury Prize for Direction went to Sarah Adina Smith for The Midnight Swim.

Best Original Song

Winner – “One Kind of Love,” from Love & Mercy, written and performed by Brian Wilson
Honorable Mention – “Found You,” from In My Father’s House, written and performed by Rhymefest

Graveyard Shift Competition

Grand Jury Prize (tie) – Alléluia, directed by Fabrice du Welz
Grand Jury Prize (tie) — They Look Like People, directed by Perry Blackshear

“The jury found itself unable to determine a hierarchy between exquisite works of passion, madness, human bonds and inhuman horror.”The jury awarded for Best Actress to Amy Everson in Felt and Best Actor to MacLeod Andrews in They Look Like People. The Special Jury Prize for Outstanding Use of Music went to Rain the Color of Blue with a Little Red in It.
 Ground Zero Tennessee First Competition
Grand Jury Prize – The Keepers, directed by Joann Self Selvidge and Sara Kaye Larson


 Tennessee Horizon Audience Award for Best Shorts
Presented by TN Film, Music & Entertainment Commission and Native Magazine
Winner (tie) – Daddy’s Little Girl, directed by Chad McClarnon
Winner (tie) – Usetocould, directed by Drew Maynard

 Sponsored Awards

NPT Human Spirit Award – My Voice, My Life, directed by Ruby Yang
Women in Film & Television Award – Yosemite, directed by Gabrielle Demeestere
Outstanding LGBT Film – Naz & Maalik, directed by Jay Dockendorf
Nashville Area Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Award – Alfonso Gomez-Rejon for Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Lipscomb University Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Rosenwald, directed by Aviva Kempner.


 Nashville Film Festival (NaFF), April 16 – 25, 2015presented by Nissan North America, brings the world to Nashville in a 10-day celebration of film. NaFF honors the diversity of the human vision by curating varied program segments and partnering with nearly 100 community organizations. Founded in 1969 by Mary Jane Coleman, it is one of the oldest film festivals in the U.S.  Each year NaFF attracts hundreds of filmmakers, actors, screenwriters, musicians, industry insiders, world media and over 40,000 film fans to celebrate with over 250 films from over 50 countries. A team of 500 volunteers make NaFF happen. As an Academy Award Qualifying Event, NaFF garners notice from the Associated Press, The New York Times, The Wall Street JournalMovieMaker Magazine, IndieWire, Variety, Billboard, New York and Script Magazine.


About Nissan North America 
In North America, Nissan’s operations include automotive styling, engineering, consumer and corporate financing, sales and marketing, distribution and manufacturing. Nissan is dedicated to improving the environment under the Nissan Green Program and has been recognized as an ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 by the U.S Environmental Protection Agency. More information on Nissan in North America and the complete line of Nissan and Infiniti vehicles can be found online at and, or visit the Americas media sites and