Feature Award Winners

May 21, 2018 (Nashville, TN) – The 49th Annual Nashville Film Festival concluded its 10-day festival of can’t miss events with a sold-out screening of hillbilly. On Friday, May 18, the highly-anticipated announcement of the 2018 Feature Award Winners were announced. Winning films were selected from a jury from industry representatives from across the country.
Below are the winners in each category:
Feature Film Awards
Narrative Competition Grand Jury Prize – Romany Malco, Prison Logic 
Documentary Competition Grand Jury Prize – Bing Liu, Minding the Gap 
Belmont University New Directors Competition Grand Jury Prize – Jim Cummings, Thunder Road 
Animation Competition Grand Jury Prize – Benjamin Renner & Patrick Imbert, The Big Bad Fox and Other Tales 
Music Films/Music City Grand Jury Prize – Scott Balcerek, Satan & Adam
Short Film Awards
Live Action Short – Grand Jury Prize – Cyril Aris, The President’s Visit 
US Narrative Short – Julio O. Ramos, Debris 
International Narrative Short – Nicolas Boucart, Icarus 
Animated Short – Grand Jury Prize – Trevor Jiminez, Weekends 
Documentary Short – Grand Jury Prize – Gordon Quinn, ’63 Boycott 
Experimental Short – Grand Jury Prize – Douwe Dijkstra, Green Screen Gringo 
Student Short – Grand Jury Prize – Maria Eriksson-Hecht, Schoolyard Blues 
Young Filmmakers Short – Alex Alford & Zak Denley, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Suburbia
Episodic  Awards
Short Form – The Passage 
Long Form – Tammy’s Tiny Tea Time – The Full Series
VR | 360
Grand Jury Prize – I Am a Man, created by Derek Ham
Honorable Mention – MicroGiants, created by Yifu Zhou
Graveyard Shift Awards
Graveyard Shift Grand Jury Prize for Feature Film – Mickey Reece, Mickey Reece’s Alien 
Graveyard Shift Grand Jury Prize for Short Film – Bo MaGuire, Socks on Fire: Uncle John and the Copper Headed Water Rattlers
Graveyard Shift, Best Actress – Cate Jones, Mickey Reece’s Alien
Graveyard Shift, Best Actor (tie) – C.J. Jones, Door in the Woods
Graveyard Shift, Best Actor (tie) – Jacob Ryan Snovel, Mickey Reece’s Alien
Special Jury Prize for Imagination Philosophical and Scientific Rigor and Visual Inventiveness, Graveyard Shift – The LaPlace’s Demon
Tennessee Awards
Tennessee First Grand Jury Prize Feature – Brett Hanover, Rukus
Tennessee First Grand Jury Prize Narrative Short – Hillary Bell, Hunter
Tennessee First Grand Jury Prize Documentary Short – Karen Bullis, Kathy Lee Heuston, Clarksville, 1937
Tennessee First Grand Jury Prize Student Short – Jason Luckett, Pilots
Best Original Song – “Talk to Me,” from Blindspotting. Written by Anthony Hamilton
Audience Awards
Narrative Competition – Prison Logic
Documentary Competition – Weed the People
New Directors Competition – Mountain Rest
Music Films/Music City Competition – If I Leave Here Tomorrow: A Film About Lynyrd Skynyrd (tie)
Music Films/Music City Competition – Stay Human (tie)
Special Presentations – Sammy Davis Jr.: I’ve Gotta Be Me
Spectrum – Into the Okavango
Graveyard Shift – The Odds
Tennessee First – Other Versions of You
Non-Cash Awards
Honorable Mention, Narrative Competition – Robert Machoian, Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck, When She Runs
Best Actor, Narrative Competition – Romany Malco, Prison Logic
Best Actress, Narrative Competition – Elise Van’t Laar in Craving
Best Screenplay – Vivien Qu, Angels Wear White
Best Music – Carl Thiel, Prison Logic
Special Jury Prize for Breakout Performances by a Young Actress – Meijun Zhou & Vicky Chen in Angels Wear White
Honorable Mention, Documentary Competition – Laura Nix, Inventing Tomorrow
Special Jury Prize for Openly and Honestly Expressing Love at a Critical Time – Ron Yassen, Crossroads
Honorable Mention, New Directors Competition (tie) – Bierta Zeqiri, The Marriage
Honorable Mention, New Directors Competition (tie) – Takashi Doscher, Still
Honorable Mention, Music Films/Music City Competition – Stephen Kijack, If I Leave Here Tomorrow: A Film About Lynyrd Skynyrd
Honorable Mention, Graveyard Shift Competition – Christopher Kirkley, Zerzura
Honorable Mention, Best International Short – Estefania Cortés, Miss Wamba
Honorable Mention, Best U.S. Short – Carey Williams, Emergency
Honorable Mention, Best Animated Short – Florian Brauch, Kim Tailhades, Matthieu Pujol, Romain Thirion, Yohan Thireau, Hybrids
Special Jury Prize, Actor in a Narrative Short – Tom Doran, Time Traveller
Special Jury Prize, Actress in a Narrative Short – Shaquita Lopez, Audition
Special Jury Prize for Unique and Important Storytelling – Fabien Gorgeart, The Devil is in the Details
Honorable Mention, Documentary Short – Shelby Hadden, Tightly Wound
Honorable Mention, Documentary Short – Maris Curran, While I Yet Live
Honorable Mention, Experimental Short – Eve Duhame, Julian Vallée, Strangers
Honorable Mention, Best Graveyard Shift Short – John Boisen, Björn Fävremark, Paralys
Honorable Mention Colleg Student Short – Alireza Ghasemi, Lunch Time
Honorable Mention, Best Tennessee Narrative Short – Chad Cunningham, The Order
Special Jury Prize for Best Tennessee Animated Short – John McAmis, QWERTY
Special Jury Prize for Cinematography – Luca Caruso-Moro, Every Grain of Rice
Special Jury Prize for Music Films/Music City – Bathtubs Over Broadway
Sponsored Awards
VER Prize for Cinematography – Ashley Connor, Mountain Rest
Lipscomb University Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Nicolo Donato, Across the Waters