2018 Feature Film Award Winners

by NashFilm

Feature Film Awards

Narrative Competition Grand Jury Prize
Romany Malco, Prison Logic

Documentary Competition Grand Jury Prize
Bing Liu, Minding the Gap

Belmont University New Directors Competition Grand Jury Prize
Jim Cummings, Thunder Road

Animation Competition Grand Jury Prize
Benjamin Renner & Patrick Imbert, The Big Bad Fox and Other Tales

Music Films/Music City Grand Jury Prize
Scott Balcerek, Satan & Adam

Episodic  Awards

Short Form
The Passage

Long Form
Tammy’s Tiny Tea Time – The Full Series

VR | 360

Grand Jury Prize
I Am a Man, ceated by Derek Ham

Honorable Mention
MicroGiants, created by Yifu Zhou

Graveyard Shift Awards

Graveyard Shift Grand Jury Prize for Feature Film
Mickey Reece, Mickey Reece’s Alien

Graveyard Shift, Best Actress
Cate Jones, Mickey Reece’s Alien

Graveyard Shift, Best Actor (tie)
C.J. Jones, Door in the Woods

Graveyard Shift, Best Actor (tie)
Jacob Ryan Snovel, Mickey Reece’s Alien

Special Jury Prize for Imagination Philosophical and Scientific Rigor and Visual Inventiveness, Graveyard Shift
The LaPlace’s Demon

Tennessee Awards

Tennessee First Grand Jury Prize Feature
Brett Hanover, Rukus


Best Original Song
“Talk to Me,” from Blindspotting. Written by Anthony Hamilton

Audience Awards

Narrative Competition
Prison Logic

Documentary Competition
Weed the People

New Directors Competition
Mountain Rest

Music Films/Music City Competition (tie)
If I Leave Here Tomorrow: A Film About Lynyrd Skynyrd

Music Films/Music City Competition (tie)
Stay Human

Special Presenttions
Sammy Davis Jr.: I’ve Gotta Be Me

Into the Okavango

Graveyard Shift
The Odds

Tennessee First
Other Versions of You

Non-Cash Awards

Honorable Mention, Narrative Competition
Robert Machoian, Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck, When She Runs

Best Actor, Narrative Competition
Romany Malco, Prison Logic

Best Actress, Narrative Competition
Elise Van’t Laar, Craving

Best Screenplay
Vivien Qu, Angels Wear White

Best Music
Carl Thiel, Prison Logic

Special Jury Prize for Breakout Performances by a Young Actress
Meijun Zhou & Vicky Chen, Angels Wear White

Honorable Mention, Documentary Competition
Laura Nix, Inventing Tomorrow

Special Jury Prize for Openly and Honestly Expressing Love at a Critical Time
Ron Yassen, Crossroads

Honorable Mention, New Directors Competition (tie)
Bierta Zeqiri, The Marriage

Honorable Mention, New Directors Competition (tie)
Takashi Doscher, Still

Honorable Mention, Music Films/Music City Competition
Stephen Kijack, If I Leave Here Tomorrow: A Film About Lynyrd Skynyrd

Honorable Mention, Graveyard Shift Competition
Christopher Kirkley, Zerzura

Sponsored Awards

VER Prize for Cinematography
Ashley Connor, Mountain Rest

Lipscomb University Prize of the Ecumenical Jury
Nicolo Donato, Across the Waters